Salute to Cherry Ames

Last week on the Stampin’ Addicts blog hop, I shared a dress card and promised I’d provide the template.  You can find it here, on my blog’s Resources page.  This is a variation of someone else’s work, but I haven’t a clue where I first saw it several years ago.

Does this version recall any experiences as a hospital volunteer?  I was a Candy Striper for a very brief time when I was 14, before my family moved away from the area.  I was proud to wear the dress and pinafore (in the manner of Cherry Ames), but I remember it as being a lot of running around and being under close supervision.  Little wonder, delivering urine specimens and picking up meds!

Anyway, I believe the construction of this card is obvious, but if not, here are a few tips:

  • Trace the dress onto the folded card stock; punch the neckline at the fold through both layers.
  • After you have cut the apron, but before you adhere it to the dress, trace the dress neckline onto the apron, then punch.  You cannot punch through three layers.
  • Before you adhere the apron to the dress, construct the collar.
  • The collar is a punched circle cut in half, each half positioned so that the points meet in the center.  Adhere the outside edges of the collar, then punch out the remainder to match the other necklines.

Embellish this to your heart’s content!

Paper:  Bashful Blue, Summer Picnic Designer Series Paper (retired but currently available in the Clearance Rack at 60% off!)

Other:  Scallop Edge Punch, Eyelet Border Punch,  5/16″ Neutral Jumbo Brads (White), Organza Ribbon

1 Comment

Filed under Projects

One response to “Salute to Cherry Ames

  1. sue

    Fun! I brought a smile to my face that’s for sure. Do you have the old books? Was it Nancy that got them originally?

Leave a Reply

