Tuesday Tip: Tool tote

Here’s a late afternoon shot of our Christmas Crank cabin about 15 miles north of home.  There were 12 of us with the run of the building, except for an apartment upstairs for the caretaker.  (He took care of the property; we took care of ourselves!)  The right entry takes you into a large room with fireplace where our tables were set up.  It was noisy, productive, and fun.

Do you take your stamping and paper crafting projects “on the road”?  Then this tip is for you:  Create a portable, stamp-on-the-go container with your essential tools.  I use a soft-sided, handled tote (you can buy them everywhere) with zippered compartments, divided sections, and pockets for everything I need:  a variety of adhesives, the retired Stampin’ Up! tool kit, hand punches, bone folder, various scissors, my personalized colophon stamp, mat pack, a small grid ruler, AquaPainter, Blending Pen, Adhesive Remover, regular pens and pencils — and some non-stamping tools such as tissues and camera.  I keep this packed the same way in my studio.  When I’m working, the whole tote comes to the table and I work out of it.  It’s easy to put the tools away when I’m finished so that I always know where they are.  When I clean up the studio for camp, my tote is simple to move to another area.

It took me a bit of experimentation to get the right container.  I tried baskets and wooden totes designed for tableware.  This tote was not perfect, either:  I have a jar inside one of the open compartments so that some of my tools remain upright and don’t slide around.

Make your life simpler:  design a tool tote!

Leave a comment

Filed under Tip

Leave a Reply

