A walk in the gardens

Click to enlarge

After purchasing and downloading the Medallion stamp for My Digital Studio, I had a pretty good idea what I wanted to use it for.  Most summers I have looked forward to the Garden Walk, which showcases eight or ten gardens in the county.  Held on the second Saturday in July, it is almost always brilliantly sunny and terribly hot.  Wearing a wide-brimmed hat is a must.

This year I was at our DIL’s bridal shower and missed the Walk, but last year’s was perfect and inspiring.  There are plenty of ideas to adapt to my own yard — or to simply admire.  Most homeowners are meticulous in their preparation, and every year I laugh at the aroma of freshly applied mulch.  I have known people whose gardens have been featured, and it’s months of hard work at the mercy of the weather and the bugs and wildlife.

And yet, once you’ve gotten that dirt under your fingernails, you can never quite get rid of it.  Here’s to next year’s gardens!

A few notes about this page:

  • I printed this page on my home printer on Whisper White card stock.  (What you see is a jpg of the page image, not a scan.)  I think the quality is excellent.  Because this is a single page and not part of a bound book, I decided not to send it to the professional printing services.  However, since Stampin’ Up! doesn’t have page protectors or albums for 8″ x 8″ layouts, I’ll probably mount it on a coordinating piece of 12″ x 12″ card stock.  If I had a large-format printer, I’d print it right to 12″ x 12″, of course.
  • One of my favorite capabilities of MDS is the ability to match colors to a any portion of the page using a picker that shows each pixel of your page.  Here I wanted the color of the Medallion stamp (used as a background) to match the terra cotta hand in the top photo.  Then I lightened the background to prevent it from becoming overpowering.
  • Can you see the importance that a drop shadow makes?  I often don’t mat my photos, and this option gives me a 3-D illusion that accents the images.

I love this program!  When I finish my certification for MDS later this month, I’ll have something very special for a lucky reader!

2 Comments

Filed under My Digital Studio, Projects

2 responses to “A walk in the gardens

  1. Stamper Jill

    I have read all your blogs about MDS and others as well. My interest is piqued but I would like to see it in person before making the decision to buy. Possibly you would have a class on this portion of Stampin Up?

    • heartfeltinkspiration

      I’ll bring my pages next week for you to see and we can talk then. Maybe I’ll have my book done and in my hands by then (but I doubt it!).

Leave a Reply

