Of ladybugs and lace

Click to enlarge

Sunday was a perfectly beautiful day.  Cool, sunny, breezy — almost ideal for DH’s final push of window washing before it gets too cold.

Unfortunately, when he washes windows, I have to wash the lace curtains (six sets of them, just downstairs).  The jobs must be done together.  I told him I doubted this activity constituted keeping the Sabbath holy, but he ignored me, which I thought was most rude.  I suggested that resting on the seventh day certainly meant a nap on the porch; again, feigned deafness.  So we did it.

And of course the windows look beautiful, and although I grouse about the curtains, they are fairly maintenance-free.  And the job is done, except for the next few mornings when I jump up from my Cheerios to straighten the panels and adjust the shirring.

But a sunny day means the pesky Asian beetles come out, especially on the west side of the house where we were working.  They bite and they stink.  Nothing like the real ladybugs that we like to see in the garden.  So, during a little tiny break this afternoon, I put together this card from a piece I found while looking for something else.

Stamp:  A Flower for All Seasons (p. 103)

Ink:  StazOn Jet Black

Paper:  More Mustard, Autumn Vine DSP (retired), Really Rust, Watercolor Paper

Other:  Watercolor Wonder Crayons and Aqua Painter, 1¾” Circle Punch, Big Shot and Circles Die, Hemp Twine, Stampin’ Dimensionals

Leave a comment

Filed under Projects

Leave a Reply

