“Cute” made easy

matchbox

Some of you may have made the matchbox candy holders last year during a chocolate-themed camp.  What you didn’t experience was the tedious scoring and cutting it took to get them ready to stamp and assemble.  So I was excited (but a little skeptical) when I first saw the Matchbox Bigz XL Die in the new Occasions Mini Catalog.  When the box came with my Occasions order, I tore the die out of the packaging (saving the directions!) and cranked one out.  It was so great I offered a free matchbox with tiny stamps (and chocolate) to anyone placing an order in April, my SU! anniversary month.  Yes, that’s it up there!

Here are some tips:

  • I knew I wanted to use the new Thick Window Sheets for the lids.  Unfortunately, I didn’t order them right away (I’m still waiting, which is why those of you just getting your orders will look through your bag in vain for these treats).  So for my first experiment I used a piece of rigid plastic I had  — the packaging from something long since opened.  (I save a lot of materials with possibilities for the Big Shot!)  It worked perfectly.
  • This is my first Bigz die, which requires the Extended Cutting Pads.  Before I used them for the first time (you know how traumatic that is), I thought I would try using my Standard Cutting Pads for the box portion to cut the paper and then again for the plastic lid.  Since the Standard Cutting Pads cover the area being cut (thereby keeping the thickness uniform), they worked perfectly.  (Note that’s the second time I’ve said that….)  My suggestion:  Don’t buy the Extended pads just for this die.
  • There’s no adhesive on the box!  For the plastic lid (a sleeve, really), I tried a piece of Sticky Strip on the side panel and another one on the tab:  adhesive against adhesive.  That was several weeks ago, and the tension in the folded plastic that wants to spring the lid apart hasn’t defeated the Sticky Strip.  Perfect (ahem).

So now you may benefit from my experiences!

Stamp:  Oval All

Ink:  Basic Gray

Paper:  Sale-A-Bration Delicate Dots (no longer available)

Other:  Big Shot and Matchbox Die, Scallop Oval Punch, markers, Sale-A-Bration Poly-Twill Ribbon (no longer available), Sticky Strip, embroidery floss, thick acetate

2 Comments

Filed under Projects

2 responses to ““Cute” made easy

  1. Debra,
    The Matchbook was sooooo cool, I’m saving the chocolate for when I get despirate. Thanks for the gift.
    Carol

  2. Pingback: Working with Window Sheets « Heartfelt Inkspiration

Leave a Reply

