Shakin’ fish

port-hole

It’s been years since I made a shaker card.  But when I saw this new stamp set, this was the first concept I thought of.

I created the silver frame using my Coluzzle, then cut a piece of Window Sheet (Medium) the same size.  The fish were stamped using StazOn.  Next, I created the background on a Shimmery White circle using streaks of Watercolor Crayons that I blended.  (Make sure this panel is dry before assembling the window!)  To create the window’s depth, I cut a donut of craft foam just a shade smaller (inside and outside) than the silver frame.  I adhered that to the background, put a couple of pinches of beads, then adhered the window and frame on top.  I used Tombow Multi in a continuous line around the frame (and on the foam) to ensure there were no gaps that would let the beads escape.

An interesting experiment was seeing how I could use the Texturz plates on the front of the card only.  This is not a problem if the direction of the plate is crosswise, but with the Distressed plate the lines are lengthwise, so I couldn’t lay the inside of the card off the plate.  I thought a piece of card stock inside the folded card would prevent the embossing from going through — wrong!  But, as I tell my stampers, never apologize or explain (“I really sh0uld have…” or “It was supposed to look like …”), so I’ll just say, “This is just the effect I wanted!”

Stamps:  Just Beachy (from the Occasions Mini Catalog)

Ink:  StazOn Jet Black

Paper:  Kiwi Kiss, Brilliant Blue, Brushed Silver, Shimmery White, Window Sheet (Medium)

Other:  Big Shot and Texturz Plate (Distressed), Silver Brads, Coluzzle Cutting System, Watercolor Wonder Crayons and Aqua Painter, Bead Duos (Blue and Green), craft foam

1 Comment

Filed under Projects

One response to “Shakin’ fish

  1. Stamper Jill

    I was going to resist this set, now I probably HAVE to have it. lol What a cute card!

Leave a Reply

