Water coloring

I told you in THIS post that discovering I could color my stamped images was a turning point for me.  Well, learning different techniques for coloring has been so much fun.  Another demonstrator, Julie Buhler, opened my eyes to a way of blending colors that have been applied with Stampin’ Up! markers.  Here’s how:

  1. You MUST use watercolor paper.  You’ll be using too much water for Whisper White (it will begin to pill).
  2. The example here (sorry about the focus) just lines of marker color (Ruby Red, Cameo Coral, Apricot Appeal).  The ink dries instantly, but it’s easier to blend if you begin the blending process right away.  This example had dried for at least three minutes, maybe as long as five.
  3. marker-1

  4. The result below is after I used quite a bit of water in my Aqua Painter to pull the color down and across. I did a rough job so you could see the variations in color saturation and blending. If I had kept working with it, the original lines would have disappeared.
  5. marker-2

Try this for yourself!

Leave a comment

Filed under Projects

Leave a Reply

