I love fish!

fish-plaque

Eating them, stamping them, coloring them … but not catching them or {{shudder}} cleaning them.  But a card by Sheryl Dickinson used this concept of the mounted fish, and it just made me laugh out loud.  The expression on this fish’s face is so funny.

I created the “thought bubble” effect by punching through the card front.  The inside of the card is lined with white, so that’s what you see through the punched holes.  The bottom also has holes punched.

I created the wood grain effect on the “plaque” by scraping the edge of the ink pad on the card stock.  Precision is not an issue with this technique!

It’s hard to see the sparkle on the fish in the photo.  After I colored the fish, I smooshed the scrap into VersaMark and embossed it with Iridescent Ice, then cut out the image.  (Campers, we have done this a million times, MOL!)  It’s amazing to see the colors pop — the Watercolor Pencils didn’t create particularly vibrant colors, but after embossing — WOW!

Stamps:  Just Beachy (from the brand new Occasions Mini Catalog!), Hugs & Wishes

Ink:  Basic Brown, Close to Cocoa, VersaMark

Paper:  Green Galore, Whisper White, Close to Cocoa

Other:  Watercolor Pencils, Heat Tool, Stampin’ Emboss Powder (White, Iridescent Ice), Crafters’ Tool Kit (3/16″ and 1/8″ anywhere hole punches), Wide Oval Punch, Scallop Edge Punch, Vintage Brads (Antique Brass), Stampin’ Dimensionals

1 Comment

Filed under Projects

One response to “I love fish!

  1. sue

    I love this card! It’s so happy! I was looking at this very set this morning and wishing I could think of a reason to order it… not that a reason usually stops me LOL.

Leave a Reply

