Soup’s on!

This is one of my favorite soups, but anything I can put into the crockpot and leave for hours and hours is good!  Plus, we are expecting several inches of snow tonight, and we can look forward to this tomorrow with homemade biscuits.

Just as my husband was recovering from his cold, I got it.  I don’t manage a cold as well as he does; I want to be in my robe all day, drinking tea and reading.  He gets on with life.  I feel personally attacked by the virus.  He’d prefer not to even talk about it.

Anyway, the recipe, adapted from one by Joanne Lund:

Chunky Ham and Corn Chowder

(Mix all in crockpot and cook on Low until the vegetables are cooked))
2 cups diced lean or fat-free ham
1/2 cup diced onion

1½ cups chopped celery
1½ cups whole kernal corn (I use frozen)
1 cup chopped carrots
1 cup diced raw potatoes
1 cup (1 can) cream-style corn
1½ cups (one 12-oz. can) evaporated fat-free milk
1 can fat-free cream of celery soup
1/2 cup fat-free milk
1 tsp. dried parsley flakes
1/8 tsp. black pepper
1 tsp. Mrs. Dash seasoning (or more, to taste)

3 Comments

Filed under Food

3 responses to “Soup’s on!

  1. Sally estes

    Mmm, homemade biscuits…. I’m going to go make some right now. The new snow is pretty this morning. I’m glad I don’t have to go anywhere!

  2. Jill Finkboner

    Made this chowder over the past weekend. It was great. I’m adding the recipe to my list of greats!!

Leave a Reply

