Finally, the manly birthday card

2008-marty-bday3Here’s what I ended up with for my BIL’s birthday card.  It’s a go-to design I CASEd from Becky Carafa several months ago.  It is perfect for using up scraps of Designer Series Paper, and I can create a card for any occasion that way!

I was stunned to see my standard buttons on the Stampin’ Up! Retiring Accessories List.  Yikes!  I know there are replacements in the new catalog, but I will miss these plain buttons in the coordinating family sets.

Another retiring item used with this card is the matching envelope (small open-end envelope in Very Vanilla).  The Whisper White envelopes will still be available — good thing, since this long-card format is the “sketch” challenge for February!  To make this size card, start with a 6½” square of card stock, then fold in half (I always score at 3¼” first).

The Designer Series Paper used here is from the Spanish supplement, Celebrando Creativitdad.  (Clicking on that link will download the supplement in pdf format.)  Although nearly all of the stamp sets in the supplement are Spanish versions of those in the big catalog, there are a few unique sets.  I particularly like the images in Flores Suaves (page 27).  Items from the supplement are available on a regular order with other items.

Stamps:  All Holidays

Ink:  Always Artichoke

Paper:  Mellow Moss, Really Rust, Very Vanilla, Designer Series Paper Juntos

Other:  1¼” Square Punch, Earth Elements colored Buttons (Really Rust), 1/4′ Grosgrain Ribbon (Always Artichoke), Mat Pack and Paper-Piercing Tool, embroidery floss

1 Comment

Filed under Projects

One response to “Finally, the manly birthday card

  1. Dorothy

    I love that DS paper. Nice card! Dot

Leave a Reply

