Whatever happened to …

Friendly flower

It took me a few trips through the new catalog before I realized that Garden Greetings was missing.  I checked the Last Chance list; not there, either.  Sure enough, when Stampin’ Up! published the Dormant List, there it was, along with a bunch of others that I really hadn’t been looking for.

What does it mean when Stampin’ Up! flags a product as “dormant”?  It means that the product is still available, but it’s just not in a catalog or mini catalog.  We’ve seen some products reappear in a catalog after having been dormant, so you never know.  You’ll find the Dormant List on my Resources page, or here.

This card should look familiar; it’s the same sketch as the card I posted Friday.  I wanted to experiment with a technique new to me, called Embossed Re-inker Spread.  A demonstrator named Crystal French seems to be the one who invented it.  It’s pretty simple:

  1. On a plastic palette, drop complementary re-inkers.
  2. On Shimmery White card stock, stamp an image with open spaces.
  3. Heat emboss with powder.
  4. Spray water on the card stock so that puddles form.
  5. Use an Aqua Painter to pick up a tiny bit of the lightest color re-inker.
  6. Touch the tip of the Aqua Painter to one of the puddles.  Note the spread of color, contained by the “wall” of embossing.
  7. Wipe the color off the Aqua Painter tip.
  8. Continue adding color.
  9. Allow to dry (at least 15 minutes!) before adhering it to your project.

This technique would be more impressive if I had a stamp with larger open areas.  You’ll see it used with the big rose from Fifth Avenue Floral.

I sent this to the friends who came for supper the other night (all the way from the Minneapolis area!).  A lively discussion arose as to when we had last seen them, on a meandering trip we made up the Mississippi.  DH was able to determine that it was a shocking nine years ago, so I thought I’d drop them a line with the information so they could sleep at night!

Stamps:  Garden Greetings, Teeny Tiny Wishes

Ink:  VersaMark, Basic Black, various re-inkers

Paper:  Cameo Coral, Shimmery White, Ruby Red, Barely Banana, Apricot Appeal

Other:  Stampin’ Emboss Powder (Black) and Heat Tool, Aqua Painter, Big Shot, Backgrounds I Texturz Plates (Little Dots), Vintage Brad (Black), 1/4″ Grosgrain Ribbon (Basic Black)

4 Comments

Filed under Projects

4 responses to “Whatever happened to …

  1. Sally

    Cool technique. Please have it in an upcoming camp

  2. I had the same problem! I got this set with my SAB rewards so it really threw me off when it wasn’t in the catalog! Whew! Great card!

  3. Pingback: Autumn Splendor, with a masculine feel « Heartfelt Inkspiration

  4. Pingback: Cutting corners « Heartfelt Inkspiration

Leave a comment